Shamrocks' Alumna Rachael Ade Signs Pro Contract

Boston Shamrocks Alumna Rachael Ade Signs NWHL Contract With Connecticut Whale

Boston Shamrocks Alumna and former University of Vermont Catamounts women’s hockey captain Rachael Ade has signed with the Connecticut Whale of the National Women’s Hockey League.

Ade, originally from Davenport, Florida, developed her game with the Boston Shamrocks before attending UVM. In her senior year she served as team captain for the Shamrocks, registered six goals and seven assists for 13 points and represented the Shamrocks in the 2012-13 JWHL All Star game.  Over four college seasons at Vermont, the defender had 11 goals and 21 assists for 32 points in 143 games.

Ade signed with the Whale after participating in the NWHL’s free agent camp in Boston. “This is a unique opportunity to be able to play the sport I love professionally, and to be a part of the NWHL while the league is growing and evolving,” said Ade. “It’s a little surreal that I get to be one of the athletes that shows my younger sisters this new, possible avenue.”

Ade graduated in May as part of the winningest class in UVM history and ranks second all-time in program history with 143 games played. The defenseman skated in all 38 games last season as a senior, notching seven goals and seven assists for 14 points with a plus-14 rating. Ade helped the Catamounts advance to the Hockey East Semifinals for the second time in school history and was part of a group that posted the league’s third-best scoring defense.

“It’s fantastic to see Rachael continue her hockey career as a professional,” said Vermont head coach Jim Plumer. “I am not surprised that she was sought-after by more than one team after she had a breakout senior year. Rachael loves the game and will fit in well at the pro hockey level. It’s exciting to see our graduating seniors have the opportunity to play at the pro level in increasing numbers. It’s great for the game of women’s hockey.”

The NWHL is the first professional women’s hockey league in North America. The inaugural season began October 11, 2015 with the Founding Four: Boston Pride, Buffalo Beauts, Connecticut Whale and New York Riveters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *